When you sign up for service with Bell, your account may be enrolled in the credit limit program, which gives you either a $200 or $300 spending limit. While in the program, your amount owing, including any usage we have not yet billed you for, must stay under the credit limit. This will keep your mobile phone service active. The credit limit is lifted from your account once you have made 6 consecutive monthly bill payments on time.
You can view your credit limit, amount owing, and details about your usage and charges at any time by logging in to MyBell or by checking the MyBell app on your smartphone.
Keep your mobile phone service active by monitoring your usage and ensuring the total amount owing is under your credit limit. Your total amount owing includes your unpaid bill plus any overage charges or charges for services outside of your rate plan. If you do go over your limit, your phone services will be temporarily disabled. Your phone, however, will always allow you to dial 9-1-1 for emergencies and 6-1-1 to make a payment to your account.
We calculate the amount of credit used by evaluating the following factors:
- Unbilled usage and charges: Unbilled usage includes the airtime, long distance, data and text messages you’ve used but we haven’t yet billed. Unbilled charges include any one-time fees (for example, activation fees or fees for changing your mobile phone number). Monthly rate plan charges are also applied against your credit limit.
- Current account balance: The overall amount of your latest bill.
- Taxes: Applicable taxes on unbilled usage and charges.
- Adjustments and payments: If adjustments have been made, and if payments have been applied to your account since your last bill, the amounts will be subtracted from your balance.
Credit used =
|Credit used =
||unbilled usage and charges
|+ current account balance
|- adjustments and payments
If your amount of credit used is greater than your credit limit, your Bell Mobility service will be suspended. To restore service, you’ll need to make payments until your credit used falls below your credit limit.
The credit limit is removed automatically once you’ve paid six consecutive invoices in full and on time. When this happens, we’ll let you know by sending a text message to your mobile phone.